100% Acrylic

I’m not sure if this project falls under sewing win or fail. I was really interested in trying out felt for this idea I had for a pillow . . . appliqueing brightly-colored squares of wool felt onto a canvas background. I thought the texture and saturated colors of the felt would compliment and contrast with the texture and color of the canvas. And, I’m happy with that part of the project. But, I was so excited to try it that I settled for some acrylic felt from Target instead of waiting for an online order of wool felt to show up. (Surprisingly, I wasn’t able to find a local store–big box or small proprietor–who carried wool felt. That’s what I get for living in a small metro area like Chicago.)

The problem I have with it is that the acrylic is stiff and has a slick feel to it and made my hands sweat while I was cutting and sewing. I bet the rigidity and texture is probably ideal for another craft project, but not for a pillow. Not exactly what you want to snuggle up to. Well, my impatience got the best of me on this one, but I learned my lesson! I guess this is a sewing win and fail. Anyone have a favorite brand, or a recommendation on a source, for wool felt?

One thought on “100% Acrylic

Leave a comment